Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is evident that people are generating more waste these days. There are reasons that lie beneath the issue and this essay will discuss them, and also will discuss some of the solutions that governments could do to resolve it.

It is a fact that the amount of garbage that people produce these days has increased rapidly compared to the past. The main reason is due to the significant growth of the world population in the past few years. It is undeniable that waste production will automatically increase when the world population grows, as every individual will surely generate some wastages. Another reason is that people's lifestyle has changed these days and they have adopted a throwaway habit. It is noticed that people prefer to use plastic bags or plastic mineral bottles rather than to bring their own permanent bags or bottles. Many people do not realise that plastic wastages need around one hundred years to be decomposed. People nowadays change their electronic gadgets and appliances more frequently than ever before. This kind of living has seriously impacted the amount of rubbish that is produced each day.

There are some considerable solutions that governments could do in order to resolve the issue. Firstly, governments should make a clear regulation about limiting the usage of plastic bags and bottles. For example, governments could give tax incentives to retailers who reduce the usage of plastic bags and replace them with recyclable paper bags. Secondly, they could also make campaigns to the society about the negative effects of plastic bags and bottles to the environment. Campaigns could be made in the form of posters, short video clip or even a documentary film which can be easily accessed by the public. Furthermore, people have to be more careful about waste dumping and taking responsibility for waste recycling. By considering to these soluble solutions, it is hoped that the garbage production will decline in the future.

In conclusion, it is true that nowadays people are producing more garbage than ever before. It is mainly due to the significant growth of the population, the usage of plastic materials and people's lifestyle. Some of the solutions that governments could do would be by setting clear regulations and making awareness campaigns to the society while people have to participate in waste recycling.