Nowadays, we are producing more and more rubbish.Why do you think this is happening?What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Today, many cities around the world face an increasing amount of garbage produced by citizens. I think the main reasons for this are consumerism and over packaged goods, and it certainly needs to be dealt with.

One reason why the amount of rubbish produced is rising is the consumerist lifestyle of many people today which has led them to buy and consume more products such as food, clothes and home appliances. As a result, they often have to throw away their old belongings to make room for the new ones. Furthermore, most products today have packages and boxes that need to be thrown away. For instance, most dishes are wrapped in nylon covers, bubble wraps and cardboard boxes, which together can fill a large rubbish

bag.

To decrease the amount of garbage, governments can legislate laws to limit the garbage produced by households to a certain level, say, a kilogram every day. As a result, people would definitely try to buy only the things they need to avoid throwing away too much. Another possible solution would be to encourage producers to improve their packaging

techniques and use less packaging material like paper and plastic. For instance, if governments ask dish producers to use printed and colourful bubble wraps, they can act as protective covers as well as eye-catching packages, which means that buyers will only have to throw away one wrapper.

In conclusion, the reasons behind the rise in waste production include consumerism and

product packages, and possible solutions are laws to restrict household garbage as well as

encouraging industries to use improved packaging.