In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

By the technology advancement in electromagnetic, many high-speed inter-city trains are constructed. As the success stories from that invention, many people believe that allocating national budget for fast railway lines building is unequivocally essential. In stark contrast, some size groups of people prefer to use the money to upgrade existing public transportation. In this essay I will examine both views, though I think that enhancing public services are way more important.

To begin with, the development of high-speed interconnected trains makes life easier, particularly for those commuting a lot between cities. The train will cut time travel by almost a half and keep the body's energy always in good health condition. People benefited from technology as it has affordable prices. Prior to the fast trains, people must use several intermodal transportations to reach destination cities, and it costs higher in cumulative. Also, high-speed trains offer very comfortable services such as better air-conditioning, clean, and safe as it equips with securities in every locomotive. Due to such advantages, people often think that money should be employed in creating better railway lines for high-speed trains.

On the other hand, opponents argue that upgrading existing public transport should be encouraged before embarking on high-speed rail projects. Public transportation has an essential role in connecting cities and widely used by citizens today. However, many public modes of transport have considerable deficiency. Old buses and conventional trains use fossil fuel as the primary energy source as it could generate higher pollutants in the air, causing greenhouse effects. Following this, uncontrolled road transportations have made the congestion in urban cities worsen. Degradation of on-spot services such as dirty chairs and bad air circulation has made people unwilling to ride. Therefore, these issues should be tackled down first before going forward to create a high-cost fast train.

Overall, though many people urge to allocate money for high-speed rail establishment as it associated benefits, improving the existing public transport is the priority as it will overcome fundamental problems in societies.