In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast train between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In some nations, people have different views when it comes to choosing which type of infrastructure to invest in. While the idea of upgrading public transportation has numerous supporters, I strongly believe that spending the budget on railway lines for high-speed trains is significantly more beneficial.

There are justifiable reasons why some people favor the upgradation of public transport. The first cause is that it could immediately mitigate the traffic jams problem, especially in overcrowded cities. When the public traveling system was more convenient, citizens would be inclined to use this service more, thus reducing the usage of private vehicles - the main culprit of traffic jams. Furthermore, the quality of the atmosphere would be likely to improve. This is because if the volume of vehicles functioning on the street declined, there would be less greenhouse gases emitted to the environment. As a result, the air would be more fresh and healthy to live in.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of speedy trains connecting cities are remarkable for the regional economy and people living in these urban zones. High-speed transportation means that the speed of delivering goods and input materials from one place to another would be significantly faster, thereby increasing the trade volume and the rate of economic development. Moreover, people living in these areas could access a much larger range of occupations, since now they are not limited by geographical boundaries anymore. Therefore, they could have better chances to earn a more lucrative income.

To conclude, while it is true that upgrading public transport may bring certain benefits for tackling traffic jams and air pollution, I believe the advantages of investing in the intercity railway system for speedy trains are much more considerable.