Obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food could reduce the problem. DO you think this will be possible?

In recent years, an increasing number of people, especially those in industrialized countries, are getting obese. Although several individuals think that imposing a tax on junk food could tackle the issue, I believe that there are other measures that can play important roles as a taxable introduction in this case.

To begin with, since introducing a tax can increase the price of products, this solution may discourage people from consuming too much junk food. As a result, the level of obesity can be minimized. However, if the tax is too high for a long time, some businesses are not likely to survive, which can exert a negative impact on the national economy. Furthermore, in addition to fast food, other causes such as leading a sedentary life or consuming a few vegetables and fruits but too much sugar-based drinks and food can also result in getting over-weight. Therefore, only tax introduction may be impossible to mitigate the problem in the long run.

In my opinion, incorporating other solutions such as raising people’s awareness and encouraging inhabitants to do more exercise with imposing a moderate amount of taxes may lead to a better result in improving people's health. To be more specific, firstly, governments should invest more in sports facilities or fitness suites to attract more clients. Secondly, office workers, who usually have a sedentary lifestyle, should be encouraged to take part in outdoor activities. For example, they will be rewarded by their companies one they take high places in a sportive competition. Additionally, regular campaigns about the effects of fast food or high sugar food and beverage on health deterioration and about the important roles of taking daily exercise on reducing obesity are necessary for raising awareness.

In conclusion, I believe that the incorporation of other measures with moderate tax imposing on fast food can lead to a better result in mitigating the problem of obesity.