The family is the most important element of a life. They are the people we spend the vast of our time, however, owing to busy schedules and new eating trends, the tradition of a family having a meal together vanishing. This phenomenon follows with several consequences to individuals as well as the community.

In the contemporary world, people are more productive, however, their schedule is busier than ever before. As a result, people spend more time at work, coming home very late while the rest of the family is already sleeping or busy with their own schedules. Another reason, why families are not able to sit behind the one table and eat together might be new trends in eating or lifestyle. Nowadays, intermittent fasting becomes very popular, therefore, adjusting the time of each member of the family to enjoy meals together is almost impossible. In addition to this, different diets require several different ways of preparation and might not be able to be prepared at one time.

For decades, having breakfast, lunch or dinner was the only how to bound with another family members. With disappearing of this routine, members of such families losing connection to each other and in many cases seeing each other just briefly. As a result of this, family members are not aware of what is happening with their mum, dad or brother. This separation might severely affect individuals, while they are depressed and have no chance to share their feelings with the closest ones. Undoubtedly, several cases of depression lead to drug usage, alcoholism, or last but not least to suicide.

In short, owing to a busy schedule and different diets, families have fewer opportunities to have a meal together. This negative phenomenon has not only a significant impact on individuals well-being but also on society.