One of the best methods to motivate and encourage workers is to pay them according to what they produce or sell. Do you think this is the best method? Give relevant examples from your experience.

These days, most countries show great concern about the problems related to the salary of employees. One of the controversial questions is whether paying workers relies on the number of products they make or sell is the optimal method to motivate them. From my point of view, I remain unconvinced that this is the best measure to encourage them.

To begin with, it is undisputed that using this method can increase the productivity of a company and foster economic growth. This is because, if employees want to earn more money, they will work harder. This is shown by the following example. Through the Stalinist period which started in 1927, most Soviet workers had been paid for their work based on a piece-rate system, which means their individual wages were directly tied to the amount of product they produced. As a consequence of this measure, the industrial output of the Soviet Union in 1937 increased 4.5 times compared to 1927. Moreover, this figure accounted for 77.4% of the total natural economic production. Therefore, this method of paying salary is beneficial in this case.

On the other hand, this wage method can result in low-quality goods in many companies. To clarify, the more salary they want to receive, the more commodities they try to produce as fast as possible. That leads to the fact that workers tend to cut corners illegally to produce as much as they can. Take my uncle’s factory as an example. In 2018, one month after this method was applied, it was obvious that the number of products drastically went up. Nevertheless, when being censored, it turned out that 63.4% of the total products in that month could not meet the standard of consumers. For this reason, this measure is not the most effective way to motivate workers.

Given the aforementioned points, it may be concluded that paying salary depends on their products is a double-edged sword because it can increase productivity but make the low-quality product. Consequently, on the balance of probabilities, I disagree that this is the most suitable way to motivate employees.