One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

It is true that thanks to the achievements of healthcare, human today can expect to live longer. In my opinion, there are more advantages of this than disadvantages.

Living longer means that populations of a certain country are aging, which leads to some predictable drawbacks. Firstly, there will be more people are eligible to receive a pensions as they are at the age of retirement and less people in the workforce who working and paying income taxes. This might put a pressure on government budget. Secondly, the increase of those over the age of 65 is going to place a greater burden on health care systems.

In spite of the fact that there will be some challenges along with the issue of aging population, I believe that there are many advantages of an older generation in terms of social contribution. Pensioners are comfortable financially and find pleasure in giving back to their communities. In my home town, it is easy to find an elderly person who taking responsibility to manage a public hall or a non-profit library. Besides, as living longer, retired people play a significant role in preserving the morals and values of the community, such as love of family, respect for learning, resilience, etc. They are also willing to pass down their vast knowledge and hands-on skills to the next generation. It is just difficult to imagine a world without any elderly people.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the advantages of aging population issue prevail over the disadvantages.