Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The rise in popularity of social networking platforms on the Internet has been tremendous recent times. This essay aims to weigh in the pros and cons and give explanations for this development.

To an extent, internet social media have been an extremely useful tool serving multilple purposes, ranging from entertainment, communication to other practical needs. For example, with access to the Internet, people can log in pages such as Facebook or Twitter to read up-to-date news, keep in touch with family and friends or participate in lively online debates covering a variety of topics. This, I believe, has resulted in significantly higher standard of living as people have multifunctional tool to meet their emotional and intellectual needs. However, the satisfaction provided by this social networking media also exerts a negative impact. As netizens become addicted to the virtual world, they tend to isolate themselves from the real world with an apparent decrease in the number of face to face conversations with other people. As a result, their socializing skills will be inevitably deteriorated.

There are several reasons why social networking sites have become so ubiquitous. Firstly, the increasing availability of communication devices such as personal computers and especially smartphones with broadband Internet access has facilitated the growth in popularity of social media. Brands such as Apple or Microsoft have produced and sold such devices at an affordable price range to markets around the world. Secondly, it is also worth acknowledging that celebrities have played an integral role in promoting the notion of using social media for communication among members of society. By posting status updates on pages such as Twitter and Instagram, they compel fans to log in and interact by commenting on their posts and thus, increase the number of the sites' users.