Convenience food will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation?

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that convenience food will inevitably grow in popularity and ultimately overtake the role of conventional foods along with the traditional cuisines associated with them. I largely disagree with this proposition.

On one hand, there are sound reasons why the signature delicacies of modern hectic lifestyle may spell the death of traditional foods. Firstly, being molded after winning formulae consisting of meticulously calculated proportions of all ingredients, convenience foods such as snacks, candy bars can be produced in factories’ production lines on a far greater scale in significantly less time than their conventional counterparts. The obvious advantage in terms of quantity creates the platform for the rise of packet food manufacturers. Secondly, the marketing engine behind convenient treats works far more effectively than that promoting traditional dishes. Food companies would invest millions of dollars into visually impressive advertisements featuring eminent faces of the entertainment world and catchy tunes to popularize their products and steadily increase their grips over customers of all ages.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that traditional cuisines and their culturally and historically enriched foods will persevere. To begin with, traditional cooking methods rely more on the freshness of raw materials, authentic spices and culinary skills. This often results in dishes that boast distinctive flavors and aromas that are more likely to leave a psychological hook on diners than their mass-produced alternatives. In addition, in recent years, there have been numerous news reports exposing potential threats to human well-beings associated with a wide range of preservatives, coloring and flavoring additives that are frequently used in processed foods. Opposed to such drawback, traditionally prepared foods are constantly renovated, often with the use of herbs and vegies, to both satisfy gourmets’ appetites and improve their health.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the growing popularity of convenience food, I maintain that it does not serve as a replacement for conventional dishes.