Convenience food will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation?

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is predicted that convenience food will inevitably rise in popularity and ultimately take over the current role hold by conventional foods and traditional cooking methods. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with this proposition.

On one hand, there are sound reasons why the signature delicacies of the modern hectic lifestyle are such a tempting option for meals. Firstly, being molded after formulae of meticulously calculated ingredients in numerous production lines, these foods can be produced on a much larger scale than their traditional counterparts. The advantages in quantity and availability construct the platform on which industrial products such as instant noodles and canned food become familiar to consumers’ daily meals. Secondly, it is undeniable that the overall appeal of these foods, which include both their visual presentations and flavors, has been significantly heightened as the result of investments worth millions of dollars from the brands producing them. For example, the current sophisticated prepared microwavable ready-meals are now some of the constantly sold-out food items from the supermarket food shelves.

On the other hand, I believe the fact that TV cookery programs are dominating primetime and cook books are topping publishers’ best-selling lists proves otherwise. To begin with, traditional foods and their specific preparation methods are of great cultural significance, serving as the markers of important national holidays. For instance, even until now, in Vietnam, people still celebrate Lunar New Year with feasts of Chung cakes, boiled chicken and steamed red rice. In addition, there have been countless reports on all the hazardous effects of preservatives, flavoring and coloring additives that are frequently used for convenience foods to our well-beings. On the contrary, traditional dishes, which tend rely more on fresh ingredients, authentic spices and culinary skills, can both satisfy diners’ cravings and improve their health with loads of vitamins and heft amounts of nutrients.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the remarkable growth in popularity of convenience food, I argue that traditional cooking methods and the cultural delicacies are irreplaceable.