One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of medical technology nowadays, the average age of people becomes older and people have more expectancy to life. People think this is why medical care improved. For me, I think it is a good trend and I want to talk about both of advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, firstly, old people bring pressure for governments and hospitals. If they have high expectancy about their life, government have to spend more money on them such as sports facilities, health services and hospitals need more doctors and nurses to look after them. Secondly, not every family can afford the expenditure on medical care. If old people are paralytic, they need more care while their children need to work. So it also make their children under pressure. Thirdly, as I know, if old people get serious ill, some of they do not want to continue treating because they know it is meaningless for them, even if they have life expectancy.

On the other hand, first of all, it is true that almost everybody want to live longer without serious health problems so it is necessary for medical care to be improved. For example, if old people have a strong body, their children will not be much worry about them and they can even help their children to take care of their grandchildren. Additionally, if old people are healthy, they can also contribute to society. It’s very common that there are some old people keeping in order on the streets such us intersections in China.

In conclusion, longevity people do benefit from improved medical care, but we still have to long way to change the negative influence and make more old people in happiness.