Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required

Thanks to the Internet, online shopping has been experiencing a boom in business. In this essay, the environmental and employment effects of this trend will be examined.

Of course, the growth of e-shopping has contributed remarkably in reducing carbon footprint because of the fact that it eliminates car trips that shoppers make to buy goods at shopping malls and showrooms. However, the picture does not look rosy as online shopping has actually caused overpackaging and the higher volume of transportation, making the environmental pollution worse. Firstly, most shoppers often choose to receive home-delivered products as soon as possible, and rush delivery means more delivery trucks to meet the delivery deadline. Second, many brands and e-shopping platforms make it possible and easier to return unwanted items without cost while the consequences to the environment of returning items is that they require repackaging and double the transportation.

In terms of employment impact of ecommerce, the retail industry has been reshaped in both positive and negative ways. On the one hand, when online shopping is more popular, it reduces the number of brick-and-mortar stores which create thousands of retail jobs. On the other hand, this trend offers opportunities for sale workers who are willing to alter their skill sets to adapt to work online. Also, the rise of shopping online boosts the development of the manufacturing industry and distribution process, creating more jobs. Besides, the increase of ecommerce companies will spur employment needs for workers involved in digital marketing, website design or system maintenance.

In conclusion, online shopping is on the rise, and this trend brings both advantages and disadvantages to the environment and employment.