Most medical doctors want to work in cities where they will make a lot of money. Yet in many rural areas there are not enough doctors. What are the reasons for this problem? How can it be solved?

In the contemporary society, medical doctors have a tendency to work in urban areas, in lieu of rural areas, which leads to many problems. In this essay, the main contributors to this trend, in conjunction with some proposed solutions to tackle this issue will be discussed.

Most medical doctors choose to develop their career in the cities because they believe that it will provide them with a variety of opportunities to be more successful and earn more money for life. In the rural areas, local hospitals do not have enough medical equipment, good facilities,... to help doctors improve their professional skills. The reverse situation is true to urban areas, doctors not only get access to modern medical technology but also have a special training, even studying abroad to broaden their horizons and have professional qualification. Moreover, it is undeniable that salary and rewards paid for medical doctors in the cities are usually higher than those in the countryside. Therefore, their standard of living, as well as the education, entertainment for their children, families are much better when compared with living in the rural areas.

However, the rise of this issue has caused some serious drawbacks that both local authorities and government should not be ignored and co-operate together to address it. Most medical doctors leave for the cities because of chances and money, so local authorities and government should impose policies to rise salary and have more professional trains for alluring highly qualified doctors. By upgrading facilities, local authorities and government can help doctors be more confident to treat victims and still work in the rural ares. Furthermore, the government should have positive effect on the doctors' mind, which help them realize that they their mission is to rescue patients and heal their pains, irrespective of where they live.

In conclusion, because of the salary and opportunities to develop, medical doctors decide to work in the urban areas. The aforementioned reasons lay an adequate foundation for more policies, more encouragement to be introduced by authorities and government to interest qualified doctors for working in rural areas.