Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

In recent years, there has been a growing trend towards online shopping for a variety of reasons. Although this new kind of trading might be a great concern to some traditionalists, it should still be encouraged because of its benefits. On the one hand, there are some disadvantages caused by purchasing online. First, delivery should be responsible the atmosphere in the region. For example, the convenience of this trend acts an incentive for impulse buying following the increasing demands of vehicles, which directly caused air pollution. Second, the raw material used for package is also one of numerous vulnerable sources to environment. For instance, in order to ensure high quality of products, shoppers or manufacturers might consume an amount of plastic, which has terrible long-term impact on human health and the existence of living creatures due to its hard decomposition.

On the other hand, it seems that trading via the Internet is beneficial for society. First, the popularity of online shopping strongly changes occupation pattern. As a result, some new jobs appears including shipper or, particularly, streamer who runs an online shop and introduce their goods through a tiny screen. Second, the main purpose of this trend is towards the perfect convenience. For example, a number of groups like Alibaba, E-bays, and Taobao are expanding their worldwide system in an effort to reach more people around the world and save their customers a great deal of times. In conclusion, advantages of e-shopping outweigh its drawback. It is not only the best way to buy goods in COVID-19 context, but it also fosters the financial climate in certain ways.