Only formal examinations, written or practical, can give a clear picture of a student’s true knowledge and ability at the university level. Continuous assessment like course work and projects are poor measures of student ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Finding the best measurement to assessing student’s performance has become a controversial issue. Many people consider that only formal examination can be used to evaluate student’s ability accurately, while others believe that this can be done by continuous assessment with projects and course work. To my viewpoint, both methods is equally important to assess student’s knowledge.

To begin with, formal exam is considered as the commonest and easiest way to see the ability of a student. All students take an examination at the same time with the same topic. In addition, this method motivates students to study hard. it helps students to overcome laziness and focus on their goal with a certain amount of time. Nevertheless, formal test evaluates theoretic knowledge rather than practical skills.

On the other hand, regular assessments aid students to improve their ability progressively. During the projects, teacher could understand student's problems, therefore having some adjustments to fill up the blank on their knowledge. Moreover, this measurement gives the learner an opportunity to enhance communication skills, leadership and teamwork skills which are essential in the future job. However, projects and specific works are available on the internet, it is easy to copy.

In conclusion, both methods have advantages and disadvantages, so combination of two measurements should be used to have more judgements on student's abilities.