The only reason to work hard is to earn money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people feel that the main purpose of giving 100% in our workplace is to gain more money. In this essay, I will give reasons and examples for why I disagree with this statement. Firstly, I will discuss the benefits of working hard on overall wellbeing and self-worth and secondly, I will explore how working with focus can help other people achieve around us.

To begin with, I feel that it is important to really give maximum effort at work not just for financial gain, but also to develop your personal skills and understanding. It seems to me that by trying new activities in our place of employment, we can really develop new skills. For example, if a person works hard on a task (and gives 100% focus to it) then they will have the chance of gaining new knowledge. Furthermore, by achieving and completing work well in a person’s employment, they will also gain a feeling of self-worth. In our modern societies, wellbeing is very important to allow people to feel safe and part of a community. There has been a huge rise in adult in adult depression globally within the last ten years – and success within work can have a positive effect on this.

In addition to this, by working hard we can really help other people with their problems, too. As much as money is important to almost all people, helping others is a very noble task as well. For instance, in a call center, people will ring in with a range of questions and inquiries. Staff at this workplace can endeavor to solve any customer queries and can answer more calls if they intent to work very hard. As well as this, we can consider charity as a very important consideration when giving 100% in our work. Often, effort and diligence may lead to us being more financially successful, and in turn this means we can give more to charity.

To conclude, there are many reasons that a person should work hard in their employment. I disagree that money is the only reason to give top effort at work.