A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, individuals’ attitude and behavior has changed in many terms, along with the changing time. In the past, honest, kind and trustworthy people were given importance, in contrast, people with high socio-economic status are given more priority in today’s time. In this essay we will argue how along with the time people’s mentality has changed. I completely agree with the aforementioned opinion stated.

In good old days, individuals with qualities like honesty, kindness and one who can be trusted were praised and followed. Because in those times, everyone was treated equally, the nature of a person mattered and not the social status or economic possessions. For example, the social workers like Jyotiba Phule, who always thought of betterment of society and helped others in difficult times, was highly regarded and respected irrespective of his weak financial background. To sum up, the people were never judged on their family income or caste, race and culture.

On the other hand, during today’s time impoverished or disadvantaged people do not stand a chance to be treated respectfully, their existence and opinion is simply disregarded. Whereas, people with arrogance, hatred and rude behavior are given importance, only because of material holdings and the social class they belong to. One of the many such individuals is Mr. Abbas Khas, for instance, a well-known politician in India, who is the richest man in town and is given huge importance, without considering the scams he is involved in. Just to recapitulate, the values like kindness and honesty do not hold water in front of large bungalow, high maintenance car and a huge bank balance.

In conclusion, human values have been forgotten today as social and economic power has gained precedence over it. I strongly agree with the statement and would suggest that, equal status and importance should be given to everyone in society as in the ancient era.