People have different views about how to make our roads safer. Personally, I disagree with the view that imposing stricter punishments is the only way to improve road safety because there is a range of other measures which can be used together to do this effectively.

Stricter punishments can certainly deter drivers from driving dangerously on the roads. There have been numerous of road accidents which are the inevitable consequences of carelessness or dangerously. For example, many young people drive a car while intoxicated or use a mobile phone while driving. The penalties for driving offenders can act as a deterrent, so that many drivers will think twice about avoiding traffic offenses. Various types of driving penalties such as heavy fines, the confiscation of driving licenses or even a prison sentence should be adopted with dangerous drivers. The harsh punishments can make drivers follow the road rules and drive more carefully.

Nevertheless, I believe that the use of alternative measures by national and local authorities can promote driving safety. Firstly, it is essential to educate people properly before they start to drive. In order to ensure drivers to be aware of implementing the letter of the law strictly, these educational programs could be done in schools or in more difficult driving tests. As a result, the number of road accidents caused by teenagers may be declined in communities. Secondly, many governments around the world have succeeded in using traffic calming measures such as speed bumps, road bends, speed cameras to reduce the number of road accidents, especially in built-up areas. Finally, governments or local councils could invest more in better public transport, which would mean that fewer people would need to work or travel by their private vehicles.

From all the above-mentioned, I believe that it is not enough to improve road safety by only punishing more harshly driving offenders. Other road safety measures should also be introduced and used together towards better driving habits.