The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences.

What extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, when traffic becomes be an important issue in human’s life, safety is always considered as a promoted priority, especially road safety which is the most popular way. Some people say that giving much stricter punishments on driving offenses is the only way to improve road safety. However, in my point of view, there are many different measures to restrain negative problems.

Firstly, stricter punishments can be effective that makes drivers be careful while involving in roads. As we both know, motoring offence is crime. It also means dangers are near by anyone. In this case, proposing tough policies about both non-custodial sentence and prison sentence is necessary. In fact, many countries in the world implemented the confiscation of the driving licenses to people not adhering to the traffic law. In the UK, people can take a prison sentence for several years because of endangering innocent lives… These policies are absolutely succeeded in a certain aspect.

On the other hand, we can use other measures that seem to be lighter and more incentive. The first way might be installing speed cameras to remind drivers not to commit any mistake or break the rules. Recently, the way is applied in many areas and already brings positive results as a decreasing of the number of people going beyond standard speed. Moreover, the police should patrol around roads of local by vehicle inspections, which makes sure that they can do something on time as a sudden accident. we can easily see the result of the method in any high way, by patrolling regularly, the police can give a favor to vehicle unluckily have the breakdown.

In conclusion, there is not only way that brings stricter punishments to change road safety. we should flexibly use proper traffic measures on driving offenses to get the best results.