The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping

Traffic, the result of the increasing volume of vehicles on the streets, is considered to be the major problem which cities now are facing with. Most people claim that only by reducing the demand in people’s daily routine for personal purposes can the traffic jams be solved. I completely disagree with this opinion because I firmly believe that there are probable solutions to tackle this issue.

Thanks to the Internet, the remarkable technological development, people no more be confronted with geographical and time barriers as they used to in the early times. A businessman, for instance, is able to run his business, to communicate with partners in other counterparts without being at a far-away location or different time zone. Likewise, interacting teaching, students can now take video lessons with a teacher in a different city or country. Simultaneously, online shopping has offered a variety of choices for customers. In other words, without having people travel to fulfill their demand, the application of this technology has put a beneficial impact on traffic matters.

Nevertheless, the lack of freedom and social communication are reckoned as noticeable drawbacks, and some people believe that there are other practical methods which potentially address the traffic-related issue. The use of public transport provides a typical example. If the cities’ authorities enhance the use of buses, trains or develop a not road-based transport (such as sky trams or subways instead of private vehicles), not only will the traffic congestion be dealt but people will also be capable of sustaining their social interactions as usual.

In conclusion, I totally admit the importance of decreasing the demand for travelling from home to workplaces, schools, and shops to solve the current traffic situation. Besides, I personally think that there are more acceptable alternative measures to reduce jams on the roads.