THE ONLY WAY TO REDUCE THE AMOUNT OF TRAFFIC IN CITIES TODAY IS BY REDUCING THE NEED FOR PEOPLE TO TRAVEL FROM HOME FOR WORK, EDUCATION OR SHOPPING.

If is often argued that, discouraging people for travelling for work, shopping or school and college is the best way to lessen the heavy traffic of city area. I completely disagree to this opinion and this essay will discuss about other important measures that can reduce traffic in city area.

To begin with, I believe that improvement of roadways is the major factor to decrease traffic problem in any area. If the roads are narrow and congested, then this led to the heavy traffic problems which also help to increase road accidents as well. Similarly, in office and school time we can feel more traffic jam in city area than any other time. This is because road is not capable to take the pressure of increasing vehicle and transportations. For example, in developed countries we rarely hear news of traffic jam, but in under developed countries like Nepal, due to the afraid of heavy traffic, people in city area have to leave earlier for their work or education. Thus, to diminish the traffic problems, government and concern authorities should take effective step to improve roads conditions that can bear increasing numbers of private and public transportations.

On the other hand, encouraging public to use public transport and strict traffic rules can be another milestone to diminish traffic form cities. In others words, government should upgrade the quality of public vehicle so that people use it without hesitation and comfortably. Besides quality concern authorities also focus on to reduce fees of public vehicles and should impose strict traffic rules for everyone to maintain the heavy traffic. For Instance, increasing number of small private cars and bikes are creating more traffic in cities. The recent survey had revealed that, people prefer private car to public because of their bad services. Thus, encouragement on public vehicle which contains more people at once can be effective to reduce traffic.

In conclusion, in modern time people always want freedom on travelling, so government should focus on upgrade the highways and public transportation rather than reducing the need of people travelling.