It is insisted that traffic congestions could be solved only if there were less necessities of commuting to work, study or shopping areas. Even though this is quite appealing dilemma, I believe that the majority of people may not choose to simply stay at home and do their work or study online because of social and economic consequences they can face as a result.

There are obvious reasons why it could be not preferable option. First, people are excessively accustomed to traditional way of working or studying. For example, employees who usually commute to offices can find it difficult to make face-to-face contacts with their coworkers in order to share their experiences. This can not only affect tgeor performance but also their job prospects. Furthermore, it seems that there may be less social interaction with people. Doing tasks online while staying at home can make us feel isolated from society which can really affect our relationships with people outside. Consequently, we can start fearing public exposure in the long run.

However, serious economic consequences might be faced as well. One of the issues related to this proposal is that businesses such as restaurants can suffer from lack of people in the streets. As people who are regular visitors of restaurants could shift to online work or study, these businesses run the risk of losing profits and going into bankruptcy in the long term. This can contribute to the loss of jobs in the hospitality industry , hence an increase in joblessness. Moreover, most of the office buildings would become useless if employess turned into online working. These empty buildings can serve no purpose, leading to waste of resources.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the given idea is appealing, it appears to me that this can in fact cause social and economic challenges.