Open plan office no walls no barriers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, the ever-increasing demand for enhancement in the working environment has forged adjustments within working places, exposing staff members to open plan offices for a supposedly better working milieu. This essay attempts to give plausible reasons why the advantages of this trend fail to outweigh the looming drawbacks that it might have on both laborers and companies in general.

On the one hand, barriers demolition in the working space are preferred among workers for a number of listed reasons. Most notably, the trend endows employees with opportunities for betterment in their social skills, especially that of interpersonal communication. Moreover, it also generates provision for an easier and more convenient process of supervising. As a result, managers can effortlessly and thoroughly keep track of their workers’ work progress.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why a majority of people, myself included, are opposed to the idea of open plan offices. To commence with, open spaces, without any doubt, deprive employees of their own privacy. This does not only result in a decline in job satisfaction but also creates favorable conditions for unnecessary conflicts between individuals within a working milieu. Adding further, it goes without saying that working in an environment where face-to-face interaction is a fundamental order would negatively affect staff members’ ability to stay focused. As a result, companies’ removing walls would cause a bleak reality in which a lack of concentration becomes the main cause for the reduction in work progress.

In light of the above-mentioned discussion, open-plan offices, despite various benefits concerning a slight mastery in employees’ soft skills and betterment in the supervision procedure, pose an immense threat to the working milieu when it comes to personal privacy and irrefutable lack of concentration.