In order to study at university students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that learners should be allowed to pursue higher education without fees as the tuition price has been increasing dramatically. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I believe that abolishing tertiary fees would have an adverse bearing on students as well as society.

On the one hand, there are many compelling reasons why the free-college policy should be applied. Firstly, in terms of students, removing tuition benefits them immediately. For instance, citizens living in poor conditions would have more opportunities to attend tertiary and achieve bachelor degrees. As a result, they could have a better opportunity to develop not only their job career but also their living quality. Secondly, a society covering higher education prices obviously has numerous advantages. There would be a more educated workforce by the increase in graduates' influxes, which results in the growth of their nation’s economy and happiness.

Despite these above benefits, I would contend that waiving university fees may take a toll on many aspects. Regarding students, attending college without pricing is dramatically harmful to their motivations. As most learners have to pay money to be entitled to college, they would be less responsible for their learning process if the fees were removed. Hence their time, money as well as health would be wasted. Furthermore, due to the increase in the influx of people who graduate from university, tertiary qualification would lose its status and power. For example, graduates need to bring other degrees in addition to their university certificate in job interviews, hence it will reduce the essential of entering tertiary.

In conclusion, while some maintain that the government needs to make the university fees free for all, I believe that it is better not to waive the tuition fees.