Organized tours to remote community and other countries are increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for local people and the local environment?

In recent times, it is observed that tourism to faraway areas such as mountainous or isolated spots has evolved into popularity. Due to this phenomenon, some people wonder whether it is advantageous or not to both the locals and the nature in the target areas and personally the benefits it offers seem to outweigh the drawbacks to some extent.

First of all, regarding indigenous people there are various sorts of benefits they can receive from this change. Apparently, the residents can increase their income by involving in several businesses and services such as hospitality, food and beverage and transportation. To take Ha Giang as an example, since the bombardment of tourists to some villages and towns, the locals have increasingly erected a wide range of accommodation which never existed before. Also thanks to the development of tourism and their income, the residents can acquire better services and facilities while it was difficult for them to approach them because of financial shortage or transportation difficulties.

Moreover, many people take environmental issues into account in those places whenever mentioning tourism. In fact, a plenty of tourist attractions have been severely damaged by humans around the world but conserving the nature and surroundings has been concentrated more acutely these days. People are now aware of how crucial the ecology is thanks to press and social media; therefore they acknowledge that they have to protect the environment together with the locals in order not to aggravate the unspoiled destination. Tourists or travellers join environmental charity, or participate in voluntary activities to help maintain the natural and wild beauty of all areas.

To conclude, even though remote communities seem to be influenced by the remarkable growth of the smokeless industry, the negativity is minor, in comparison with the positivity. It is evidently beneficial to not only the indigenous but also the native ecology.