Our personalities are predetermined by our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely believed that a person is not capable of changing their personality, which is fully predestined at birth. Nevertheless, this viewpoint is not shared by many respected scientists and is contradicted by abundant evidence. This makes me question the alleged impossibility of character alteration and hold an opinion that it is not defined solely by genes.

The most obvious argument against the exclusive role of genes in determining one’s personality traits is that people are inevitably exposed to the influence of the environment, where they live. In childhood people’s qualities, habits and attitudes are formed in accordance with their family background. Thus, being raised by steady parents or relatives makes adolescents grow into responsible and compassionate young adults. In contrast, being involved in aggressive and traumatic interactions with senior members of their family children may develop such traits as selfishness, opportunism, etc. Moreover, children in underprivileged areas tend to be more susceptible to act under peer pressure, form addictions and become juvenile delinquents, because they lack family support.

The possibility to alter one’s character seems to be confirmed by latest scientific research. Recent findings of geneticists have shown that genes themselves are modified in response to the person’s lifestyle choices. These so-called epigenetic modifications are used by our bodies to adapt to vital conditions of our lives and have been found to be inheritable. So, our environment, experiences and all choices may define not only our own features, but also influence our offsprings. Neuroscientists have discovered a human brain’s plasticity, which means that people can change their thinking patterns and develop new character traits if they make enough effort.

To sum up, the problem under consideration cannot be solved simply and its solution will take more than one short essay. However, it seems utterly insensible to claim that no matter how hard they try people can never alter their personality, which is hardwired by the set of genes they receive from their parents.