Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits.

To what extent do you agree?

During the process of human development, the fusion of egg and sperm happens followed by a random combination of genes from both father and mother, resulting in our unique genetic makeup. This contriibutes to a greater extent in determining our personality traits, nevertheless i believe there is always a possibility to alleviate or suppress those traits with the help of modern science.

Personality traits are special to every human being similar to the variability we seen among other people in terms of their fingprints and iris type. As we are born as an individual, we are given a particular sets of qualities pre-written based on our parents and ancestors genetic makeup, this influences how we deal different emotions, situations, people and environment.

On the other hand, genes cannot entirely preoccupy our ability to control or change the way we react to many situations. For instance, scientific studies showed Depression, suicidal tendancy, aggression are capable to be genetically transmitted to the following generations. People born with such traits are predetermined to experience it in their lifetime, if they were given appropriate attention and care by medical practitioner like psychiartist or behavioural experts like psychologists, they can have a better life than what was predetermined for them.

In conclusion, i agree that genes are the basic building blocks of every living beings in addition they are solely responsible for determining our character traits, Moreover the immense scientific advancements helps us to find a way to modify how we are experience our life irrespective of the influence of genes.