In recent years, the overpopulated issue in cities has drawn much public attention in many countries. Despite a variety of its undoubtedly detrimental effects on urban societies, I believe that some necessary steps can be taken to curb this phenomenon.

In terms of overcrowding’s impacts, the lack of accommodation is one of them. The larger population cities have, the more housing burden authorities have to shoulder. In fact, numerous workers are living in so-called temporary accommodation with a low living standard. Another its serious consequence is a rising unemployment rate. In other words, while it has continuously witnessed an increase in the urban population, the number of people directly participating in physically demanding work dramatically decreases thanks to technology advancements. As a result, a plethora of citizens currently still find it challenging to find a stable job to earn their livings.

Regarding the solutions, not only authorities but individuals also take responsibility for reducing the effects described above. Firstly, governments would have policies to provide residents with enough accommodation. The fact has shown that constructing blocks for low-income families has significantly contributed to solving the shortage of housing in many countries. Secondly, it is also essential to carry out strategies of widening various kinds of occupation. Instead of only focusing on industry, each nation should pay an equal priority for agriculture and services as well to create more job opportunities for citizens. Lastly, individuals should perform actions to tackle this problem. For example, each person could obey the national family planning to control birth rate or take part in charity activities to help others being under pressure of this phenomenon.

In conclusion, the urban overpopulation brings about various demerits for people’s lives, and I do hold the belief that governments’ efforts with individual contributions will successfully halt this problem or at least partly eliminate its negative impacts.