Parents, usually mothers, stay at home to look after their families. People believe that for this they should receive a salary from the government. Do you agree or disagree and why?

In recent years, the idea that housewives or house husbands who are not at work should be given state subsidies has gained wider public approval. From my own perspective, I firmly believe that they should not receive financial support from the local authority.

The opposition to the introduction of government financial aid is attributable to several justifications, chief of which is that the appearance of that form of assistance can promote people quitting jobs and staying home to earn money. In particular, this idea is appeal to the individuals not having stable job or no motivation to work but still desire to earn money. For example, who is between job, instead of gaining qualifications and updating their CV, they are prone to be the parasite on society by claiming children and housing benefits. A number of such lazy and opportunistic individuals should be regarded as a setback in the civilizations of society.

Another strong counterargument to implementation of the supported salary from the authority to people who do not have occupation and take care of their family is that there is a high possibility for the misuse of financial package are supposed to mitigate the financial burdens on those without an opportunity to have income. Some individuals, despite the good cause of the state subsidies, take it as pennies from heaven for personal purpose such as shopping or travelling. Consequently, the money which originally aims to buy necessity for households can be spend on luxuries and gambling.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe that it would not be advisable for the policy-makers to offer financial support for citizens who are housewives or house husbands because this form of assistance might lead to the laziness and dependence or might be used inappropriately.