In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby.

To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

These days, the demand for shopping has been drawing a public attention. The question of whether shopping could be considered as an interest or not is a controversial issue. I do not completely agree with this point of view.

There are several reasons to explain why many hold a belief that shopping could bring many assets deliberated kind of a hobby. First and Foremost, the consumerism makes a contribution to addressing the number of onerous problems in the economic activities. To be more specific, this work may spur an inevitable measure of declining the rate of unemployment which is always a thorny issue for the economy nowadays. Secondly, the shopping plays a dominant role in entertaining for the residents after long working hours in the sense that leading to helping workers or students get their mojo back or get a deeper insight into the most wonderful moment in their life.

Despite these attractions, there are still having some drawbacks for this trend. If people set aside the enormous spending for shopping, they will be thrown in disarray. For instance, it is when their budgets have to focus on shopping, which easily plunges into the mire of debt or even brinks their job to the brink of being out of work. As a sad truth, the social phenomenon of impulse buying would take their toll on the environment. The reason is that their overconsumption on shopping is excessive, which generates the so-called “throw-away” problem. By taking this action, this influences on many corners of the environment such as exhausting natural resources, especially non-degradable materials.

To sum up, the trend of shopping also caters to people with many advantages but its balance should be implemented to limit all the detrimental consequences mentioned above.