In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

In recent years, students have tended to get a college degree by receiving foreign education instead of applying to a domestic university. This essay will discuss about the pros and cons of the studying abroad.

On the one hand, studying overseas is considered to be a chance for students to interact with different kinds of people and access new cultures and languages. This expands their personal horizon. Furthermore, applying university in a different country is the best way to help children have their own financial and mental independence. Without support from their parents, they have to learn how to manage their time and money properly. Moreover, students can have better career opportunities if they acquire university overseas. For example, according to a recent research, 67% students graduating from a foreign college have a job right after graduation.

On the other hand, studying abroad has its own cons. Students who study overseas will have a difficult time because they are far from home. The homesickness may come up to them every night when they leave school and get home alone. In addition, they tend to start their career in the country that they have finished their study. Instead of returning their hometown, students emerge in the rich lifestyle in foreign country and choose to live there. In this way, many developing and under developed countries lose valuable human resources.

In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks to studying abroad. The main advantage is that the students get to learn a lot of new things while studying abroad. The main disadvantage is that they may choose not to return to their country and thus fail to contribute to its development.