In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some method.

What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, advertisements are considered the most effective channel for brands to deliver their products to customers. Many businesses, therefore, put their concentration on highlighting the innovation of products in their advertisements. The reasons for this phenomenon will be discussed later and this development is believed to bring both pros and cons to sellers and buyers.

With regard to the causes of this advertising development, the first companies’ motivation is to stimulate the curiosity of new clients and to reinforce the loyalty of the familiar consumers. Apple, for example, a company that specializes in technology products, applies this method of advertising in the new iPhone’s release day which means they introduce their new features from the appearance to the new function to consumers. It actually attracts the attention of people due to these innovations.

Furthermore, emphasising the new feature of the products which companies release in their advertisements can help them to defeat their rivals and orient buyer’s attention. In the competitive market, the number of businesses competing in the same field has increased dramatically and people tend to be interested in the uniqueness of the products. Therefore, the critical action they can do is to differentiate their products with others by new things.

From my perspective, this advertising method may bring back both negative and positive sides. Standing on the advantage of consumers, introducing the innovation of the products can be the acceptable way to expand purchasers’ range of choices. However, if the released product is under their expectation, they may lose their belief in the brand that they purchase which then share their negative feelings to people resulting in the decrease in revenue of the seller.

In conclusion, the new feature emphasising is carried out for the purposes of stimulating customers and competing opponents in the market. It has an advantage which is to expand consumers’ options and a disadvantage which is to bring disappointment to them.