Young people in contemporary societies are exposed to a negative lifestyle associated with illegal substances and drugs mainly due to the lack of good role models. There are a lot of contributing factors to this behavior, however, in my opinion, the most important is the absence of good interaction between parents and their children.

It is a fact well known that, nowadays, young folk are not influenced anymore by their parents, which, as a consequence, leads them to an unhealthy narrative of bad examples. This happens because parents either do not pay enough attention to their offspring as they grow up, or they become indulgent and far to lenient with their kids by accepting, for instance, their every request. This type of parenting quickly grants to children control and they, subsequently, stop respecting their parents and start to seek influence elsewhere. The TV and the social media fill in this gap by introducing to young people all sorts of bad attitude, such as that doing drugs is a socially acceptable behavior.

The only way to tackle this problem is to educate children from a very young age, and to present them the true values, which are highly regarded by our society. In order for this to happen, parents paly a pivotal role. They are responsible for explaining to their children the negative impact that drugs and any other illegal substance can have to their bodies, and how to avoid any bad influence. Furthermore, the educational system of every country must prioritize the correct induction of young folk to the society. For example, in Sweden, children from a very young age work four hours per week by offering their services to the community. Through this procedure, they learn to appreciate values, such as honesty and collective spirit, instead of the alcohol and drugs depicted in TV series.

In conclusion, I believe that the only way for stopping the tendency of young folk toward drugs is by presenting them constantly with healthy examples and role models.