People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example.

In this modern era, drug abuse by young generation are now becoming a proliferating pandemic that definitely needs an attention to diminish or to evacuate completely from the world as it has serious consequences. This essay will mention some important causative factors responsible for this recent outbreak and also point down the ill effects and tackling measures to deal this dilemma.

Young people, in particular school going children are dominated in figures of drug abuse. Although the backhand reasons are quite multifactorial, peer pressure are one of the predominant cause for this rising numbers of drug addicts. Influence from movies, internet websites which describes the all possible actions of drugs and also observing other elder addicted people will together impose children to experience temporary excitement of drugs and eventually indulge pressure on them. Several sociologists addressed in WHO 2005 world summit revealed that 60 percent of teenagers are now prone to use illegal drugs for relieving stress and ecstasy. In addition, psychology specialists explained that most of the drug addicts are diagnosed several neuropsychological diseases for example generalised anxiety disorder, Mania and Depression. It’s never to be forgotten that such children will lose their concentration in academics and keeping themselves away from family and pals which can lead to develop suicidal tendencies.

While thinking solutions, drug abuse is one such issue that can be hindered only by the effective cooperation, starting from local to governmental levels. First and foremost, advices and guidance should begin from family. Parents and other acquaintances are able to educate their child about the risks of using drugs that can devastate one’s body and soul. Educational institutions along with the support of government can play a major role in acknowledging the demerits of drugs and help them to aware which one is legal or illegal. Moreover, health team members which includes, psychiatrist, counselling member, social worker are capable to work with drug addicted child for drug withdrawal and dependence by making sure that child line numbers are 24*7 active.

To summarise everything, the only possible thing that we can do against drug abuse is giving continuous education and care to our children so as to vanish this alarming situation from the world.As a socially responsible individual,it is our duty to safeguard the young people from this life threatening virus in order to protect our future generations.