The proportion of people consuming sugar containing drinks is extremely increased in recent years. This is mainly caused by the changes in lifestyle, while there are a number of solutions eliminating this, including government’s incentives and companies’ campaigns.

The reason why people choose more sugar-based drinks is their different behavior in terms of their dietary lifestyle compared to past decades. In fact people in modern societies consume a lot of fast food with soft drinks or canned drinks, mainly because they cannot cook their own meals due to the fast based daily routines. Another factor is that people are affected by the advertisements and TV's anchors who basically promote sugar based drinks. As a result, individuals, and especially teenagers, change their habits more easily. To illustrate this, according to a survey, Greek people are affected by the advertisements of a soft drink called 3cents, as long as they see these drinks in every means of transportation and in the TV as well.

The aforementioned high consumption of sugar based drinks can be decreased effectively if governments and companies move towards this goal. With regards to governments, health education could be a solution by advising and instructing people about the risks and the health problems related to the high intake of sugar. People should be aware of the serious effects of sugar, for example the diabetes. Meanwhile, companies should launch campaigns which would inform people about the inimical effects of sugar consumption rather than promoting only the pleasant side of their drinks. By doing this people would reduce consuming such drinks and have more awareness about health problems.

To sum up, the high proportion of people drinking sugar-based drinks is due to the transformation in their habits. However, it can be reduced with joint actions by societies and enterprises.