People are now living longer than ever before and many old people are unable to look after themselves. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of families to look after the elderly, while others say governments should provide retirement homes for them where they can be looked after properly. Discuss.

In today’s world, because of the medical invention and better lifestyle, life expectancy rate is increased. As a result, some people think that families should take care of them while others think that it is the responsibility of state to provide enough support to aged people.

To start with, some people have opinion that elder people have paid taxes throughout their career and now it is the duty of government to avail retirement homes for them where they can properly treated. It is also true that in current time, as all are busy with their jobs and other responsibilities, no one can get enough time for their parents. So in this situation best solution for these people is to relocate them to old age houses where they can get best treatment. Also some people do not have enough money for medical expenses while some others do not have families to support them. In either case, state should step up and have to fund their health expenses.

On the other side, some people argue that it is the duty and responsibility of the families to help their old aged family members. These people have sacrificed their golden years of life to fulfill the requirements of their children and now when they require support of them then they should deserve that. Apart from this, it is true that own family members can provide better treatment and help compare to outsides like nurses. Also if these elder people will live in their own home with their own family then they fell less pain than living with some other people whom they even don’t know.

In conclusion, to support the aged people, both states and their families should take appropriate steps so that they can live peacefully in their last years.