People are surrounded by advertising. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Today, advertisements are everywhere. While disturbing, they are becoming unavoidable in the virtual world, because it is the advertising that supports the free business model in our online world.

Advertising can be annoying. With poor designed posts pasting all over the stations, harsh paintings intruding in our sight along the highway, noisy and disordered framework hanging fully in the digital screens patched on the walls of elevators and ugly leaflets thrust into our hands on the road, it seems practitioners have exploited every corner of the world to promote their products. What make it worse is their ugly deliberately exaggerated color, dramatized display which aim design targeting to seek attention.

While some of them are well designed, but it leads to the second problem that the information they promoted is exaggerating the best, often misleading the worst. For example, an advertisement for electric car would promise a driving range that never turned out to be true after customer bought it. And then the seller would tell the buyer that that number could be reached under idealistic condition. But it is far away from the ordinary driving environment. Think what will happen when it comes to medicine, what will happen? A false propaganda language might do harm to or even kill the patients.

However, advertising became increasingly inevitable on the internet. Thanks to it, high-tech companies manage to provide varieties of services for free, such as search engine, map service, news and immediate message service, and so on. Income from advertising takes accounts for more than 90% of revenue of Google and Facebook. It’ s hard to imagine a world where people have to pay for all of the services on internet. So, it’s fair that if we want to enjoy those services for free, it’s fair that we have to accept the very thing that supports pay for them.

In conclusion, as a powerful approach in marketing. On the one hand, , ads can be danger dangerous. Yet, we need it to pay for our conveniences in the online world services. So only if we can limit its power by punish it for deliberately exaggerating activity, its will be more useful for us.