People are wearing western-style clothes rather than more traditional clothes. Why is this? Is it a negative or positive development?

It has been a trend that people nowadays are wearing more clothes of western style compared with traditional clothes. To my point of view, it is caused by culture invasion and the situation definitely has a negative impact not only on the indigenous culture but also on local economy.

With the wide spread of developed countries’ culture, such as the American culture. The customs of western culture including wearing styles also permeate into nearly any country in the world, reducing the frequency of wearing traditional clothes. However, this situation may cause a loss of cultural confidence. People may lose the faith in their own culture, even worse, admire western culture rather than their own. Take America as an example, as the world’s largest nation of immigrants, attracting millions of people from every corner of the world. As a result, some culture with a small population will die out with the attack of this kind of cultural invasion.

The impact can also be keenly felt on clothing economy. With the trend of wearing western-style clothes, the foreign company may ravage the competitors which are almost local companies that design traditional clothes out of their own business. Over time, it leads to serious economic problems. For example, in the 18th century, because of the enormous transport of clothes from England, China’s economy had been through a difficult time with a large loss of exchequer.

In conclusion, the transform of people’s ideas of wearing styles is caused by culture invasion, from my own perspective it will have a negative rather than positive effect on the society.