Many catastrophic natural disasters occurred recently have made people realize how crucial the environment is to us. Tsunamis, earthquakes, hurricanes, etc. are responsible for huge numbers of casualties every year. Humans also have to depend on Mother Nature in certain industries such as agriculture and tourism. Unfortunately, many individuals are still ignorant and refuse to take responsibility to protect the environment. From my point of view, there are two major reasons explaining this reckless behaviour. In this essay, I plan to point out why people are being so indifferent and propose some feasible solutions to these complicated issues.

The first reason is that many people are uneducated on the ongoing environmental problems, especially those living in developing countries. Citizens of these countries consider pollution and resources depletion complicated and are problems of the future. They are unaware of the impacts that plastics, sewage, or chemical toxins have on nature. Research carried out in a rural area of Vietnam have shown that 60% of residents do not know why they should stop using plastic bags. Consequently, people keep treating the environment poorly, which will eventually result in its deterioration.

Another factor contributing to people's lack of actions toward environmental problems is that the eco-friendly lifestyle is quite hard to maintain. Humans have gotten used to such a reckless lifestyle of using plastic straws, plastic cups, and dumping wastes into the ocean. Moreover, the price of an environmentally-friendly lifestyle is definitely not affordable. Rather than buying costly metal straws and tote bags, people would pick plastic straws and plastic bags for for their cheap prices. All in all, a sustainable lifestyle to many people is extremely demanding.

To tackle this complex issue, the government and organizations should put out campaigns and advertisements in order to educate citizens more on the continuing environmental problems. Manufacturing eco-friendly goods should also be more invested in so that these products become less of a financial burden. Imposing certain restrictions on people’s behaviour toward nature is another suggestion from environmental activists.

To sum up, there are many reasons why people can be irresponsible for preserving the environment, two of which being lack of knowledge and difficulties in maintaining sustainable lifestyles. Countries' governments should take action immediately so that citizens pay more attention to the pollution crisis that humanity is currently facing.