People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons and effects of it ?

Time spent for the family in many regions is declining in recent days. There are a set of causes for this phenomenon, in this essay, I am going to discuss its impacts on both family and society.

The absence of family time is attributable to two main reasons. First, people in the modern-day become too occupied with their schedule; therefore, they rarely stay at home, let alone have time for their families. Even children these days are overwhelmed with full-day school time and cram classes after school. Second, the proliferation of digital devices like computers, smartphones, or televisions can also lead to the lack of family time, especially in young people, who easily become addicted to these new technologies and eventually isolate themselves from their families. For example, it is prevalent to witness teenagers spend all day on their phones to chat with their friends via social media instead of engaging in face-to-face conversation with their family members.

The reduction of the family together time can take a toll on both family relationships and society. Regarding the family level, this phenomenon can create a great gap between generations in the family. Lacking quality family time may fuel misunderstandings in family and potential conflicts, which result in an increasing number of divorces. Furthermore, the breakdown on the family level may do an adverse bearing on society. For instance, children receiving inadequate care and time with their parents are prone to toxic influences from their media consumption or their friends; hence, are more likely to commit crimes in the future.

In conclusion, hectic work schedules and the overuse of technological gadgets are the blame for the disappearance of family time, and I believe that this issue has a number of repercussions on both family and society.