People no longer use newspapers and television because the internet plays the same role. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of internet in 21st century, newspapers and television being replaced by internet based online news portal and online streaming TV channels respectively, therefore people no more use traditional newspapers and TVs. I partially agree with this specifically for people in urban or city areas, however, there are still considerable number of people who prefer traditional newspapers and TVs.

On the one hand, online newspapers and TVs is attracting a growing number of people in urban or metropolitan areas for news and entertainment. There are three main reasons behind this growing trend. One is its ease of accessibility and affordability of internet particularly in city suburbs or areas. For instance, there are lots of private companies that provides numerous priced internet package targeting to customers with different level of income. In addition, it’s abundance out there over WWW with almost free of cost or charges such as New York Times, BBC, CNN etc. and these all provides up-to-date and dynamic news content, highly readable due to easy font change mechanism for all aged groups including far and short sighted people. Furthermore, live stream TV channels such as Disney Channel, HBO, 9x music etc., social site like YouTube provides enormous entertainment where anyone could indulge themselves with audio and video songs, movies, trailers, programs such as comedy shows, dramas etc.

On the other hand, there are locations or areas particularly countryside or rural areas where internet is not available yet due to remoteness and lack of infra-structure. So, people living in those places are still unable to access internet and thus could not take the advantages what web offers. Deprive of net usages, for them, traditional TVs and paper based static news content is the only source for amusement and world’s news. More importantly, even if internet becomes available in those remote corners, most of them would be incapable to proper use internet either due to lack of education or poverty. It is true in the case of developing and underdeveloped nations for example nations in Asia, Africa and Middle East.

In conclusion, I would say it is utterly disregarding to the fact that significant number of people still using traditional newspapers and TVs even though online based portals and TVs gaining popularity to a vast section of people in towns or cities around the globe.