People nowadays are used to disposable items meaning that they use things for short time and throw them away. What do you think is the cause of this and what problems can it lead to?

Throughout recent years, people, in general, got used to throwing away their items after a short period of use, relatively to the past. There are a lot of factors which caused this and the consequences of this, nowadays common, practice can be harmful to our environment and society.

As a result of our technological and manufacturing advancements, the production of disposable things has never been higher. Today, for example, an average person has numerous sets of clothes which he can wear every day, and most of those clothes get thrown away after a year of use. Shopping for clothes, among other things, has become a weekly habit for most of the population. In comparison, about 100 years ago, an average person had only two or three suits to wear and was buying new ones quite rarely. People became more materialistic and are not happy with the things they already own. Due to this, they will buy more things than they need while spending large sums of money.

Consequently, large scale manufacturers are making products which are of a much lesser quality than before. They exploit people’s greed additionally contributing to the problem of disposing of items, because items will not last as long anyways. This leads to a wide variety of problems. Firstly, a large amount of toxic waste is created, which damages natural environments. Furthermore, we have severe cases of large and famous companies abusing third world countries’ labors, in order to produce as many goods as cheaply as possible while harming basic human rights.

In conclusion, human morals have been violated as well as the natural environment, due to the obsession and carelessness of most of today’s population. People are focused on what will they wear and what car will they drive, instead of dealing with important problems concerning our whole society and our planet ecosystem’s health itself.