Literature such as novels and poems is believed to cause a waste of time for high school students. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this statement and this essay will outline a couple of reasons.

To begin with, the main factor leading to the presence of literature in school is because it offers learners a deeper view of such different stories. As many well-known novels consist of a series of hidden meanings that require hours for researching and analyzing from different angles, so students not only study how the authority wrote and structured the novels but also adopt multiple valuable lessons revolving around either life or family. Since high school students are staying in the most important stage of mental and physical development called puberty, they need to experience many aspects of life through literature.

Besides, having invest hours to self learn and do tests regarding literature, students could not only practice his or her writing skill but also develop their critical thinking by analyzing every detailed information of novels or poems, which plays a crucial role in higher-level school and future career. For example, a great number of gifted pupils in literature tend to more successful than other counterparts in career orientation and academic subjects at university thanks to critical thinking and writing skill they practiced in high school.

Some might argue that students usually remember the sample documents taken from the Internet, and subsequently, write them down in the real test; therefore, there is no promotion in critical thinking. However, in the examination there are above ten different novels required, if learners depend excessively on the sample documents rather than have a deeper understanding, they can only pass the test with an average score, about 6 out of 10.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that literature is believed to be important in high school because it helps students improve their wiring skills and critical thinking that are really necessary for the less-distant future.