People say that it is a waste of time for highschool students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a hot debate among educators about the necessity of teaching students at high school ancient literature. As they are on the path of going to work or higher education, I personally believe that highschoolers should only learn novels and poems from the past if they are really motivated to follow the field related to literature in the future.

On the one hand, literature education is necessary for students who are interested in learning poems. For one reason, these are the only group who can really study novelty or poetry well thanks to their motivation and commitment to the subject which many often feel bored about and uncomfortable with. For another, they are vital potential labour sources for many fields in which understanding literature is among necessary skills like literature education, anthropology or archaeology. Many countries around the world, especially developing ones like Vietnam, do not have enough people working in these fields because of their unattractiveness financially; hence they need to keep and invest in as many students interested in literature as possible.

On the other hand, for the majority of students who are going to the field irrelevant to literature from the past, learning this subject is certainly the waste of time. In contemporary society, other subjects like maths and languages are certainly crucial since they could be be applied in almost all of occupations, making a large number of students to learn hard to be as successful as possible in school and for their future. Spending nearly all of their time and efforts gaining math and language skills, these students tend to ignore all other subjects, including literature, in which there are no vital skills to learn. As they have no interest nor practical reasons to learn poetry or novelty, it would be unrealistic and even troublesome to require these learners to at least pay attention the literature subject itself.

In conclusion, I do not totally agree that all students do not need to learn literature. Educators should encourage only those who are keen on the subject should be to follow their literature path, and not let it be the hindrance from pursuing future work or higher education in other fields.