Some people argue that teaching literature in high schools is a sheer waste of time since it has little to no practical value. However, I contend that it provides essential moral orientation to students.

On the one hand, high schoolers might find it hard to apply literature lessons to real life. Indeed, writers or poets compose their works at a time that is fundamentally different from the present teenager’s world. More importantly, characters in novels are clearly fictional, possessing a set of behaviours that are not always relatable in modern terms. For instance, throughout the poem “Odyssey”, the hero resolved to use violence to settle all disagreements, an approach that would not work in our current, more peaceful civilisation.

On the other hand, it appears to me that this subject is crucial to the moral development of those at high school. While studying novels or poems, they are able to empathise with the characters, understanding their circumstances in the given settings instead of making subjective judgements. As a result, young learners would likely become empathetic graduates who are willing to appreciate contradicting opinions and cherish differences, eventually becoming more open-minded citizens. That is a testament why literature should be included in school curriculum.

In conclusion, although novels or poems may seem to be impractical, I am convinced that literature must have a place in high school programs to nurture well-educated citizens. Nevertheless, teachers should adopt more creative teaching methods such as role playing or plot construction to make lessons more relevant to their students.