Some people argue that high schools should omit literature from learning programs. I completely disagree with this due to the benefits these subjects bringing.

This will be a lack of knowledge if students do not learn literature in high schools. Literature is an additional subject, which is helpful when students do research projects in the university. For instance, if pupils didn’t study literature before, they wouldn’t know how to write a scientific paper clearly and logically. Moreover, they find it more difficult to choose words and phrases with evident meanings. In term of social life, students may feel dull due to the shortage of experiences brought from a range of excellent novels and poems.

There are various reasons why a student at high school ought to learn literature during the study period. First, it broadens one’s horizons with many kinds of novels such as historical and romantic novels. A poem flourishes the soul with numerous appealing things reducing stress and study pressure. Second, every literature lesson is also an ethical lesson that aid to adjust student behaviours. For example, the novel “Tat Den”, composed by a Vietnamese novelist, shows the empathy with farmers that belonged to this period. Third, literature arouse students the pride about the national cultural identity. Last, students who learned literature know to express their emotions through poetic lines. On Mother’s Day, they can give their mother self-composed poems to show how their love is.

In conclusion, I believe that literature would be a worthwhile subject that does not have to be moved on for the entire development.