People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the past fifty years, there is an increasingly growing number of people who live abroad including immigrants. While it is argued by many that following customs and traditions should be taken for the sake of adapting new lives, there still remains some arguments against this issue because it is responsible for limits of diversity of cultures. Overall, it is my personal view that local rules should indeed be obeyed when living in in a new country for the following reasons.

First of all, it is an indisputable fact that following the local culture will facilitate life in a new country rather than losing freedom and self-esteem. During our stay in the host country, if we adopt the local customs, it will be helpful for us to get better communication with the local people. Meanwhile, when we adjust ourselves to the local people's behavior, it will make us easier to socialize with them and not to be let isolated. In addition, not only will this help local people to better understand the foreigners but this also prevents foreigners from suffering any culture shock.

Even more importantly, culture and customs are intimately bound up with business. Knowing how to conduct business in a new country is a vital part of the process. Understanding the culture and the customs involved is often as important as knowing how to market in those areas. For instance, do your products comply with the countries’ local laws? Do they need to be adapted to use in different cultures? Even the packaging may need some tweaking to make it more suitable. We might also see an opportunity for a new product that would suit the new market. Additionally, dealing with customers and suppliers is an important part of doing business. Thus, it is essential to understand the local country’s etiquette to avoid misunderstanding.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that it is vitally pivotal to be accustomed to local customs during the period of living abroad due to its impact on not your daily life but your success as well. In years to come, I personally believe that education campaigns regarding preparing for culture shock should be adopted in society, particularly in schools where many students choose to study abroad to ensure better after adaptation after moving to a new country.