Working longer hours has become a prevalent tendency in recent years. This happens due to excessive workloads, which negatively affect one’s health and life.

To begin with, the main reason leading to extended working hours is increasing demand in the workplace. This happens because of a shortage of staff level. Therefore, workers must work harder to handle a high volume of work in tight deadlines. For instance, a mature film editor spends an average of 10 hours at work per day integrating and cutting hundreds of scenes and effects into a video, which would not have been necessary if his counterparts had accompanied him.

However, this trend poses serious consequences on workers’ health and personal lives. Firstly, working additional hours routinely leads to a lack of sufficient rest, a decrease in energy, and eventually health conditions in extreme cases. This is illustrated in research conducted on Japanese white-collar workers, who have to sit in their offices for up to 14 hours, resulting in spinal injuries, arthritis, and increased risk of strokes. Secondly, a shortage of face-to-face interactions should be taken into consideration. Becasue of tremendous amounts of time spent on work, people have less time taking care of their loved ones. This phenomenon contributes to a degradation in relationships between family members and friends, potentially becoming a catalyst for stress and depression in the long run.

In conclusion, I reaffirm that although extended working hours enables employees to handle excessive workloads in a competitive market, I believe that this trend negatively affects their health and personal lives. Therefore, governments should enact laws that impose weekly overtime standards for corporations.