People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society, so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the history of mankind, there is no doubt that working longer hours has gotten more common in society since it was become a mindset of company’s employees. Nevertheless, its impact on every aspect of life not only brings much controversial debate with regard to serious thought in term of the role of worker’s benefits, but also bring many negative effects on their families and their community as a whole. Therefore, i totally agree the idea of limiting working hour.

First and foremost, it is irrefutable that working with extended hours results in the deterioration of individual’s health. The first reason to support it is that being exerted pressure of a huge amount of many tasks and concentrating on work at long hours could hold the possibility of extensive damage against one’s physical condition and mental health simultaneously. Moreover, spending more time on work could probably burn the budget of personal life. It stands to the reason that having less time to care for other relationships, people may find various issues of psychological disturbance with regard to their families, soul mates as well as their lovers. Hence, human may possibly get an isolated phenomenon, which suffers from the stress and depression.

Furthermore, this not only brought negative impacts on employees, working overtime might also cause several disadvantages to the organization. By exploiting labour resources, companies around the world can expect the higher quality in output with lower expenditure. To illustrate, we can see from thousands of people in japanese company, a place which is infamous for the term of overtime working, are constituting a suicidal thought at young age of job holders because of much superior’s pressure. Moreover, although the employers promised maximum benefit from limited resources for those who were afforded long working hours, it cannot be verified that it could not get the destructive effect in long-term. The primary’s reason is that employees tend to be less productive, and meanwhile, at great risks of sickness and absenteeism. As a result, employers have to spend much more time on recruiting and training new workers. To a country as a whole, it has chronic effects, disabling the optimisation of resource use, human capital and natural resources.

As the aforementioned drawbacks and reasons, there is obviously no reason accounting for why working expanded hours can be acceptable. In short, this would lead to frequent sick leaves and low productivity, thereby doing more harm than good to people and the corporates as well.